Success: My Own Way

Alyssa Johnston
2 min readSep 17, 2021

--

A great friend and colleague of mine who has a successful career in medical sales, encouraged me earlier this year to start my business. I had already developed the plan (a long time ago!), but was stalled. Stalled due to fear. Stalled due to possible failure. I shared these feelings with him and he said, “Oh no! I have faith in you! If anyone can do this, it’s you!”

I was in awe of his kind and motivating words! His pep talk got me fired up… as all pep talks should. In the following weeks, I made my checklist and ticked them off one by one. Within just a few short months, I went from no physical business to being a live, working business owner. I was definitely proud of myself and have not lost the motivation to keep going.

In the middle of the creation of my company, I realized that I am no marketing genius. Definitely tech savvy and able to create my own social media designs. But I thought, how am I going to get clients/patients? Thankfully, a talented and successful business coach reached out to ME. She specialized in helping nurses develop their business and make money. This sounded great to me and I was in. Over the course of a few months, she worked with me to develop my business and really lay it out solidly. She made sure I wasn’t skipping any steps to protect me legally. I believe if I hadn’t used her as a resource, I would not have gone live when I did (which was less than 6 months total).

Now, I am seeing my clients virtually (thanks COVID) and collecting a small income. This was cause for celebration to me! Literally did a happy dance. I know I still have a ways to go with building my clientele, but I am open for business.

I am sharing my story not only because it is fabulous (to me, anyway) but to show others that it IS possible. Your dream can become reality! It may take baby steps, it may take time and money, but if it’s something you’re passionate about, do not give up. Otherwise, you may always be day dreaming and working for someone else’s passion.

--

--

Alyssa Johnston

I am a Board Certified Family Medicine Nurse Practitioner. I have over 18 years of experience in various modalities in nursing.